home  
 
School Accreditation Services

AESD Purpose

Washington State school accreditation began to ensure that the state’s high schools were adequately preparing students for college. It was intended to document high program quality for colleges and for the patrons of Washington’s educational system. 
Over the years, the State Board of Education opened the accreditation process to all grade levels.  This voluntary, self-study process is a research-based approach to school improvement. It includes active participation and input from staff, students, parents and community representatives. The school improvement planning process is data-driven, continually impacting student learning so that students have “the opportunity to become  responsible citizens, to contribute to their own economic well-being and to that of their families and communities, and to enjoy productive and satisfying lives…” (RCW 28A.150.210)

Process

*School contacts local ESD
*ESD lead meets with school leadership team to describe process and expectations
*ESD team reviews school’s self-evaluation and supporting evidence
*ESD team conducts site visit
*ESD makes recommendation to AESD accreditation committee
*AESD hears reports from the school leadership and ESD
*Accreditation is granted for a six-year period with a review completed during the third year.
*Progress report completed during third year.

Benefits

The accreditation process supports a long-term vision for a performance-based educational
system that aligns accreditation requirements to the continuous improvement of student learning, achievement and growth. The process provides for collaboration and deep reflection by the school community, for external review and validation of the school improvement plan, and the process that led to its development. It also provides a statement of accountability to the public. Accreditation status is granted for a period of six years if approved.

Contact your regional Educational Service District for more information

ESD 105
Ric Pilgram
509.454.3138
Ric.pilgram@esd105.org

ESD 112
Barbara Lomas
360.750.7514 Ext 244
Barbara.lomas@esd112.org

ESD 113
Dr. Andrew Eyres
360.464.6721
aeyres@esd113.org

Olympic ESD 114
Stephanie Parker
360.405.5824
sparker@oesd.wednet.edu

ESD 123
JoAnn Henderson
509.544.5751
jhenderson@esd123.org

North Central ESD 171
Cindy Duncan
509.665.2649
cindyd@ncesd.org

NEWESD 101
Mick Miller
509.456.7685
mmiller@esd101.net

Northwest ESD 189
Dr. Kathy Shoop
360.299.4036
kshoop@nwesd.org

Puget Sound ESD
Terese Emry
425.917.7836
temry@psesd.org

Puget Sound ESD
Craig Bowman
425.917.7849
cbowman@psesd.org

 

For more information, see AESD Accreditation History.