Anniversary Celebrations
Anniversary Celebrations
Anniversary Committee
ESD History
Working Together
A Foundation for the Future

Local Celebrations

ESD 114 Celebration

Did you know that the first ESD office was located in Port Townsend or that only three superintendents have served at OESD in 40 years?

These questions and more were part of a fun and informal trivia quiz that served as a kick-off for the 40th anniversary celebration held September 5 in Bremerton by the Olympic ESD. Special recognition was also given to board member Donn Ring and staff member Wende Parfrey for their decades of service.

Superintendent Walt Bigby presented a brief overview of the history, mission and strengths of the OESD to set the stage for staff recognition in each of the OESD’s OESD’s 14 departments.

Staff member Wende Parfrey was honored for her 20 years as a computer operator in the OESD Data & Technology Office. Also recognized was OESD board member Donn Ring, who has represented District 5 (Port Townsend, Chimacum, Quilcene, Brinnon and Sequim) for a record 36 years. Ring’s dedication to the board and OESD remains focused on the future.


ESD 105 Celebration

ESD 105 held a staff party to celebrate the anniversary of their ESD in September. Their cake is shown on the left.

See ESD 105 for a PDF of their ESD Birthday Card.





North Central ESD Celebration

Members of the North Central ESD Superintendents' Advisory Committee (SAC) surprised Superintendent Rich McBride at their February 5 meeting with a special cake in honor of the 40th anniversary of ESDs. Shown below (left to right) are John Adkins, superintendent of Soap Lake School District; NCESD Superintendent Rich McBride; Richard Johnson, superintendent of Okanogan School District and Jerry Simon, superintendent of Ephrata School District. The cake was artfully decorated by Juan Valle of White's Bakery in Wenatchee, NCESD NetServ Technician.


ESD 30th Anniversary

The ESDs' celebration of 30 years of service was held February 7, 2000, at a special reception in the Capitol Building in Olympia. Ken Seng, AESD President at that time, provided the welcome, followed by remarks from State Superintendent Terry Bergeson. Dr. Larry Wise, ESD 113 Superintendent, spoke on "Looking Back," followed by Dr. Gene Sharratt, NCESD Superintendent, who spoke on "Looking Ahead."

The ESDs honored one person from each area who had made a special contribution to education in their region. They were:

ESD 101

Carl Putnam, Retired ESD Board member

ESD 105

Sherman Jensen, ESD Board Member

ESD 113

Frank "Buster" Brouillet, State Superintendent, 1973-1989

Olympic ESD

John A. Arne, ESD Board Member

ESD 123

Robert Harvey, ESD Board Member

North Central ESD

Representative Linda Evans Parlette, 12th District

Northwest ESD 189

William D. Dorway, former ESD/WSIPC Board Member

Puget Sound ESD

Anne Moldrem, Retired ESD Board Member

Closing remarks were made by Brad Gingrich, ESD 123/AESD President-Elect and Ann Campbell, ESD 112/AESD Vice President.

AESD 30th Anniversary Celebration

The AESD Executive Board celebrated the ESD 30th Anniversary at their meeting at North Central ESD in Wenatchee in 1999.